Kerpic 08 - Learning From Earthen Architecture in Climate Change

Etkinlik Başlangıç - Bitiş Tarihi: 04 - 05 Eylül 2008
Yer: Uluslararası Kıbrıs Üniversitesi, Lefkoşa - KKTC
Web Sitesi:

The International Conference, "Kerpic ''08: Learning from earthen architecture in climate-change" will be held at the Cyprus International University, in Lefkoşa - Northern Cyprus, on the 04 - 05 September 2008. The focus of the conference has evolved from quality of life in earthen architecture, environmental and health care, towards disaster prevention. We hope that it will bring together the related disciplines of architects and engineers, on material, construction, marketing and environmental science, to create database, technology watch and strategy.

Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean. Cyprus has been inhabited since the Neolithic period in history by different cultures. Stone and earthen materials are characteristics of Cyprus vernacular architecture and the Island is especially famous for its earthen traditional houses and villages.

A workshop will be organized on site which will cover the restoration of a local earthen building and the construction method of Alker (gypsum stabilized earthen material) where all the participants can take part.

September is the best time in Cyprus for a seaside vacation. In addition to the formal schedule of events, a social and cultural program will offer a historical tour to the interesting parts of North Cyprus.

-  Learning from earthen architecture in climate change.
- Mediterranean earthen architectural heritage.
- Living sites and local knowledge.
- Management of architectural heritage.
- Disaster prevention.
- Standards and guidelines.
- Small island ecological aspects.
- Advances in researches.
- Earthen architecture with ultimate technologies

Submission of Papers
Paper proposals require submission of abstracts in English. The length of abstracts must be between 300 - 400 words. Full-length papers will later be asked to be 8 pages, including graphics, tables and references. Template for abstract, full paper and poster will be on web page.

Organization Committee
- Bilge Işık, Cyprus International University (Chairperson)
- Çiler Kırşan Yükselen, Cyprus International University (Co-chairperson)
- Hülya Yüceer, Cyprus International University
- Batuhan Bayramoğlu, Cyprus International University
- Nail Özlüsoylu, Cyprus International University
- Nezire Özgece, Cyprus International University
- Meray Taluğ, Cyprus International University
- Sevim Zabunoğlu, Cyprus International University
- Zeref Birsel, Cyprus International University

Scientific Committee
- Bilge Işık (Conference Chair), Head of the Department of Architecture, Cyprus International University
- Mehmet Ali Yükselen, Rector, Cyprus International University
- Mete Tayanç, Dean, Faculty of Engineering, Cyprus International University
- İsmail Peker, Faculty of Engineering, Cyprus International University
- Mehmet Ali Egemen, Head of Department of Civil Engineering, Cyprus International University
- Marcial Blondet , Dean of the Graduate School, Catholic University of Peru, Lima -Peru
- Randolph Langenbach, M-Arch (Harvard), Dipl.Conservation (York, England)
- Gregory Moor, University of Technology, SYDNEY-AU
- Venkatarama Reddy , Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalor - India
- Hasan Boduroğlu, Department of Civil Engineering, ITU, Istanbul -Turkey
- Ruhi Kafesçioğlu, School of Architecture, ITU [honorary member] Istanbul - Turkey
- Faruk Karadoğan, (Rector of ITU) Department of Civil Engineering, Istanbul - Turkey
- Mehmet Ali Taşdemir, School of Civil Engineering, ITU, Istanbul - Turkey
- Tülay Tulun, Faculty of Science and Letters, ITU - Turkey 
- Abdulkabil Tulaganov, TASI, School of Architecture, Uzbekistan
- Abdolrasool Vatandost, Director, Research Center for Conservation of Cultural Relics (RCCCR) - Tahran - Iran
- Luigia Binda , Dipartmento di Ingegneria Structurale, Polotecnicidi Milano, Italy
- Ivana Zabickova , Danubian Earthen Architecture Network, Bruno University of Technology, Czech Republic
- Hugo Houben, Craterre, School of Architecture, Grenoble - France
- Peter Walker , Dept. Architecture & Civil Engineering, University of Bath - UK
- Horst Schröder, DVL, Bauhaus-University Weimar, Germany
- Umberto Varum, Departamento de Engenharia Civil Universidade de Aveiro Campus Universitário de Santiago, Portugal
- Stefan Simon, Director of the Rathgen Research Laboratory in Berlin

14 May 2008:
Deadline for abstract submission
30 May 2008: Notification of acceptance for abstracts
16 July 2008: Deadline for full paper submission
28 July 2008: Notification of acceptance
11 August 2008: Deadline for final paper submission

Registration Fees
International Presenter: 300 Euros
National Presenter: 220 Euros
Accompanying Person: 160 Euros
Othert Participants: 60 Euros
International / National Student Presenter: 170 Euros
National Student: 60 Euros

The fee amounts increase after 01 August 2008.
Etkinlik Arşivi
Yayınlanan etkinliklerin kategorik olarak listesi aşağıdadır. Ayrıntılarına ulaşmak istediğiniz etkinliği listeden seçiniz.