Best in Green Building Competition

Son Başvuru Tarihi: 31 Aralık 2007
E-posta: [email protected]
Web Sitesi: www.housemedianetwork.c...

New York state boasts some of the world''s most brilliant and sustainable houses. Join New York House magazine in celebrating homes that represent the best in design, energy efficiency, and environmental sensitivity. Our Best in Green Building competition aims to identify and showcase the outstanding and innovative work of architects, builders, designers, and energy experts in our region, as well as the homeowners who fund and support that work.

Our goal is to cast a spotlight on exemplary home projects in order to bring them the attention they deserve, educate and inspire our readers, and promote green building practices in our region and beyond. All finalists will be featured in New York House Magazine.

Submission Requirements
Projects must be single-family homes built between January 2000 and December 2006 and be located in the New York House magazine editorial coverage area: Manhattan; the boroughs of Queens, Bronx, Staten Island, Brooklyn; and the counties of Westchester, Rockland, Putnam, Orange, Sullivan, Dutchess, Ulster, Greene, Delaware, and Columbia.

Entries will be evaluated based on best-practices guidelines as defined in the U.S. Green Building Council''s LEED for Homes Pilot Rating System, as well as aesthetics. Entries must demonstrate that they:
- Use building resources efficiently through improved design, sizing, material selection and utilization, and construction practices;
- Consume less energy through improved insulation, HVAC sizing, and renewable energy systems,
- Enhance comfort and health through improved indoor air quality and abundant natural light,
- Use land wisely through careful site selection, orientation, and landscaping,
- It is built to last for many years with minimal maintenance.

A site visit by one or more of our judges may be requested. If this is deemed necessary, you will be contacted to arrange for a convenient time for this visit.

Submission Deadline
 All submissions must be submitted on or before 31 December 2007.

Five houses will be selected as finalists by a panel of architects, designers, builders, environmentalists, and sustainability experts from the region. Judges include Larry Sherwood of Sherwood Associates, past Executive Director of NESEA and ASES; Michael H. Nicklas, FAIA, Principal Innovative Design, Inc.; and Ron Judkof, Director of Buildings & Thermal Systems Centers at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory. The winner will be selected by award-winning architect and industrial designer Michael McDonough.
Yarışma Arşivi
Yayınlanan yarışmaların kategorik olarak listesi aşağıdadır. Ayrıntılarına ulaşmak istediğiniz kategoriyi listeden seçiniz.