Union Station 2020 - A Crossroads for The High-Speed Rail City Competition

Son Başvuru Tarihi: 15 Ekim 2008
E-posta: [email protected]
Web Sitesi: www.chicagoarchitectura...
Yarışma SonuçlarıFirst Prize: Michael Cady, Elba Gil ,David Lillie, Andres Montana
Second Prize: Cheyne Owens
Third Prize: Lindsay Grote

Honorable Mentions 
FRPO Arquitectura + Urbanismo
Gabriel Belli Butler, Pasquale Tuttolomondo
Duliao Studio
Casimir Kujawa, Mason Pritchett, Patrick Johnson
Xiao Min Du , Wei Lun Huang
Jeeyong An, Hosung Chun, Sang Hwa Lee of GinsengChicken
Sascha OrozYarışma Bilgileri

The Chicago Architectural Club and the Chicago Humanities Festival announce Union Station 2020, an international design ideas competition for the conversion of Chicago’s Union Station into a high-speed rail hub, regional market, and meeting place. This year’s Burnham Prize competition forms part of "Burnham 2.0: A Patchwork Plan for Chicago", a composite urban plan that marks the centennial of Burnham and Bennett’s Plan of Chicago. 

Union Station 2020 asks for innovative solutions for the transformation of Union Station into a center of high speed rail traffic and related programs. It is not simply a question of designing an efficient and functional transit hub. How can this intermodal node become more than a mere knot of infrastructure? What role can this project play in the reconfiguration of Chicago’s West Loop and of the city and region? How can an existing landmark building be transformed to accommodate and generate a new combination of activities while welcoming an unprecedented level of rail traffic? How can we leverage infrastructure to produce other results, to shape the city and the public sphere? How can a point of exchange generate a regional culture? And what does ‘culture’ mean, anyway?

Union Station 2020 is an international open, anonymous, single-stage ideas competition open to all architects, intern architects, landscape architects, and students. Participants developing other sites for the Burnham 2.0 exhibition, members of the Board of Directors of the Chicago Architectural Club, members of the Board of the Chicago Humanities Festival, members of the jury or their families, or those involved-in any capacity-with the preparation of this competition may not participate.

English is the official language for this competition. All presentation materials ans submitted questions should be written in the offical language.

Entry Fees
Students (with copy of valid ID): 50 Dollars 
All others: 80 Dollars 

First Prize:
10.000 Dollars 
Second Prize: 3.000 Dollars 
Third Prize: 1.500 Dollars 

Up to 3 Honorable Mentions will be awarded.

The top ten entries, including all prize winners and honorable mentions, will be featured in the Burnham 2.0 exhibit to be held at the Chicago History Museum, starting 08 November 2009. Results of the competition will be featured in the Burnham 2.0 publication, scheduled for 2009.

- Stan Allen (Principal, Stan Allen Architect; Brooklyn, NY - Dean, Princeton University School of Architecture)
- Doug Garofalo (President, Garofalo Architects, Inc., Chicago, IL)
- Geoff Manaugh (Author of BLDGBLOG and senior editor of Dwell magazine)
- Bruce Mau (confirmation pending - Principal, Bruce Mau Design, Chicago, IL)
- Zoka Zola (Principal, Zoka Zola Architecture and Urban Design, Chicago, IL)

Competition Schedule
01 August 2008:
Competition Launched, Question and Answer Period Opens, Online Registration Opens
15 September 2008: Question and Answer Period Closes
10 October 2008: Online Submission Period Opens
15 October 2008: Online Registration and Submission Periods Close
08 November 2008: Winners Announced at Public Event, Burnham 2.0 Exhibition Opens (Chicago History Museum)

Yarışma Arşivi
Yayınlanan yarışmaların kategorik olarak listesi aşağıdadır. Ayrıntılarına ulaşmak istediğiniz kategoriyi listeden seçiniz.