Second International Award for Architecture Diploma ACXT IDOM 2008

Son Başvuru Tarihi: 20 Ekim 2008
Teslim Tarihi: 30 Ekim 2008
E-posta: [email protected]
Web Sitesi: www.acxt.net/

ACXT Architects, IDOM Engineering. ACXT architects, www.acxt.net, is a team of professionals who aim to take a multi-disciplinary and cross-cultural approach to architecture. It is a part of the engineering group IDOM, from which ith has inherited its philosophy of teamwork and action. IDOM, www.idom.com, is a international firm offering multi-disciplinary professional services. It employs over 2,000 professionals worldwide working in the fields of Consultancy, Engineering and Architecture.

The aim of these awards is to encourage architecture students to research and reflect on new patterns and approaches within the current cultural context. A prize will be awarded in each of the following areas:

Transformation and instability in the city of today: The city: changes and mutations; the role played by the place. Architects and the city in the new IT economy. Landscape, new territories of opportunity. The simultaneous phenomena of de-localisation and renewed protagonism of the urban nuclei. Geographies beyond tomorrow.

Inter-disciplinarity as a necessary basis for a new kind of working: Paradigms of diverse knowledge-sensibilities. Polyhedric ways of seeing. Responsible thinking in an ecological society: prefabrication and re-cycling. Low-cost and sustainability.

Creativity and sources of inspiration, within the context of contemporary communications. The accumulation and digestion of information in the IT era. Plagiarism increase as a consequence of information overload. Where does originality now reside?

- Any Final Year/Diploma project presented from October 2007 to October 2008 at a School of Architecture that is officially recognised in the country of origin is eligible for submission.
- The jury will grant three prizes. The three winners will be those who, in the opinion of the jury, present the most interesting proposals in any of the areas outlined above. Allocation of projects to the three areas mentioned above will be at the discretion of the jury.
- Three prizes of 5.000 euros each will be awarded together with a winner’s certificate. In addition winners will be eligible for an internship (work placement) at an ACXT-IDOM studio.
- Entries will be assessed anonymously. The jury will deliberate without prior knowledge of the project authors. To register, complete the entry form provided on www.acxt.net. The Award Secretary will guarantee anonymity during the jury deliberation. Only individual registrations are allowed. Registration is free and will require acceptance of the competition rules.
- The presentation shall be in digital format, 4 files in PDF-format, size DIN A2, at a minimum resolution of 300dpi. All files must include a clearly visible code, located in the bottom right-hand corner of each file, both for landscape or portrait formats. The code will be a combination of 6 characters, letters or numbers. The author’s name must not be included on any file. Video format (maximum 5 minutes and maximum size of 20MB) is also permitted as an alternative or in addition to the PDF files. The video presentation must likewise remain anonymous. The video format must be “avi” or “wmw”. These files will be uploaded to a website made available for the competition and whose link will be sent by e-mail to the participants after completing the registration form. The language will be either English or Spanish. Along with the panels,
it will be necessary to upload the certificate of submission of the Final Year/Diploma Project issued by the corresponding school/college.
- The results of the jury will be published within four months of the submission deadline. There will be no right of appeal against the jury decision. All works presented and the jury minutes will be published on the ACXT web site www.acxt.net. Interpretation of the rules and the jury’s decision-making process will remain at the discretion of the Award Secretary.

- Manuel Aires Mateus (Architect, Aires Mateus Associates)
- José Ballesteros (Architect, PhD and Editor)
- Laura Espejo (Architect, ACXT Madrid)
- Iñaki Garai (Architect, ACXT Bilbao)
- Manuel Gausa (Architect and Editor)
- Fernando Pérez (Architect, ACXT London)
- Javier Pérez (Architect, ACXT Bilbao)
- Spiro Pollalis (Architect, Professor of Design Technology Management, Harvard University)
- Francisco Sánchez (Industrial Enginner, Energy Department Director IDOM)

Award Secretary: Manuel Andrades Architect, ACXT Seville.

Registration Deadline: 20 October 2008
Digital Submission Deadline: 30 October 2008

Yarışma Arşivi
Yayınlanan yarışmaların kategorik olarak listesi aşağıdadır. Ayrıntılarına ulaşmak istediğiniz kategoriyi listeden seçiniz.